Announcing our October 2014 Workbench of the Month

Our October 2014 Workbench of the Month comes to us from Eric from Lafayette, Louisiana.  He has transformed mainly Cherry from a locally harvested tree and reclaimed Cypress from a barn beam into a fully functional work of art.  We know you will all truly enjoy this wonderful bench.  Very well done Eric.

Leg Vise, Roubo Bench, Lake Erie Toolworks

Leg Vise, Roubo Bench, Lake Erie Toolworks

Leg Vise, Roubo Bench, Lake Erie Toolworks

Leg Vise, Roubo Bench, Lake Erie Toolworks

Leg Vise, Roubo Bench, Lake Erie Toolworks

The dimensions of the bench are 69-3/4″ by 18-1/2″ by 34″ tall. The top is 3-3/4″ thick. The legs are 5-1/2″ by 3-3/4″.

I made the top out of a cherry tree that was felled and milled about six years ago. The rest of the bench, including the center of the top is an old cypress beam from a barn, and the mortises were in the board from its prior use.

The cherry comes from a huge tree that was grown locally and was felled by a friend of mine. I had it milled and let it air dry for many years. The tree also yielded wood that I used for other projects, including the top of my dining room table, a trestle table made with black walnut.

The person who milled the cherry tree for me milled these pieces at 4 1/2 inches thick, even though I did not direct him to do so. (I lost some thickness to eliminate some twist that came from the air drying.) Believe it or not I was a bit irritated when I picked up the wood because I did not ask for anything thick, and it had not yet entered my mind that one day I would make a workbench and that this thick lumber would be perfect for the top.

The legs and base are also made out of old cypress beams from that same barn. The bottom shelf is made from various scraps-mahogany, red oak, gum, hackberry and other woods.

I have been working on this bench since about September 2013 and I look forward to a lifetime of enjoyment and use of my workbench.

I am a big fan of your vises and have been checking out your work benches of the month for some time now.

Thank you for your consideration,
Eric

Leave a Reply

