Announcing Our February 2015 Workbench Of The Month

Our February 2015 Workbench of the Month comes to us from Mark D. from Larkspur, Colorado.  We hope you enjoy this workbench as much as we did.

Wagon Vise, Lake Erie Toolworks

Wagon Vise, Lake Erie ToolworksWagon Vise, Lake Erie Toolworks

Wagon Vise, Lake Erie Toolworks

Dear Lake Erie Toolworks,

I have included pictures of my workbench from start to finish and the story of its making. I have been a woodworker hobby enthusiast for over 25 years.  I have had made several multi-purpose workbenches and assembly tables, but never a true woodworking bench.  I have read several articles and watched multiples woodworking videos on workbench design and builds.  I was recently inspired by a simple design I observed, the Lie-Nielsen Studio workbench.  Armed with some knowledge and inspiration I began working on my design with the following requirements:

  • Workbench length 60”
  • Workbench width 21”
  • Workbench thickness 4”
  • Wooden Screw Vise
  • Quick release woodworking Vise
  • ¾” Dogs
  • Must be able to disassemble top and trestle base

I procured the hard maple and began the milling and laminating process.  The two trestle bases are comprised of 2 3/4″ x 2 3/4″ legs with mortises to accept the tenons from the cross braces.  The side stretchers are 3 1/2″ x 1 3/4″.  The stretchers tenons are attached to the legs with a T-Strap bolt which is drilled through each leg.  The workbench top itself is secured to the trestle legs by lag bolts from the top cross brace. These two assembly features fulfill my requirement that the bench can be disassembled. All my friends have seen me build several things over the years, but had to ask, “How did you make the wood screw?  I tell people that I thought about trying it, but I went with the professionals at Lake Erie Toolworks and glad I did!  The wood screw installation instructions were spot on and it works fantastic!  I flattened the benchtop by creating a router sled and making multiple passes.  I then sanded the whole bench down and finished the workbench by rubbing on a mixture of 1/3 Boiled Linseed Oil, 1/3 Mineral Spirits and 1/3 Spar Varnish.  Lastly, I finished the workbench off by putting my woodworking brand on the side of the bench.

I’m glad I finally took on the task of making the workbench.  I feel like some rite of passage has been achieved.  I’m excited to start building some furniture and heirlooms on the latest addition to the shop.

Thank you for a great product Lake Erie Toolworks!

Kind Regards,  Mark D.

One thought on “Announcing Our February 2015 Workbench Of The Month

Leave a Reply

