Announcing our March 2016 Workbench Idea

Our March 2016 Workbench Idea comes to us from Pearson Bulmer from Burraneer, which is a suburb of Sydney, Australia and he has provided an amazing Roubo workbench idea with a leg and wagon vise combination.  We know you will all pick up some great pointers from this fantastic workbench crafted by the young lad from the land down under.  Enjoy!

Lake Erie Toolworks, Roubo Workbench, Leg Vise, Wagon Vise, Wooden Vise

WB-Mar2016-2Web

WB-Mar2016-3Web

WB-Mar2016-5Web

WB-Mar2016-4Web

WB-Mar2016-6Web

I created my woodwork bench for my major project in Industrial Technology, which here in Australia, goes towards my Higher School Certificate (HSC). A lot of blood, sweat and tears went into getting this project completed on time, and I must say, I am very proud of the end result. It took just under seven months to complete, from start of construction to the date of hand-in and marking.

My workbench is designed around the traditional Roubo bench with both the leg vice and tail vice. Everyone who has played around with the vices, myself included, has loved the smoothness and rapid wind of your wooden screws. They are a joy to use and a stark contrast to the normal metal screw vices that I am used to.

A lot of the aspects of the bench I have tried to ‘jazz’ up so that I could show a boarder range of skills to the markers. There are the straight inlays in the top, the wave lamination inlays and the carving centre piece on the bottom rail. The bench is made from Black Walnut, Blackbutt and Radiata Pine. I also used five layers of laminated MDF within the middle of the bench to reduce to cost of the timber whilst retaining the heft of the top.

If I ever build another bench, I will definitely order again 🙂

Good luck for the future of the business and may you and your family have a great 2016.

Sincerely,

Pearson Bulmer

Leave a Reply

