Announcing our March 2017 Workbench Idea

We have a truly unique and amazing Workbench Idea for you that comes from Gerald L. who hails from Carlin, Nevada.  Carlin is near the Carlin Trend which happens to be one of the most productive gold mining areas in the United States.  Clearly, more than one type of gold can be mined in Nevada as Gerald truly hit the mother lode when he created this phenomenal workbench.
Lake Erie Toolworks, Leg Vise, Wooden Leg Vise, Tail Vise, Roubo Workbench,

Lake Erie Toolworks, Leg Vise, Wooden Leg Vise, Tail Vise, Roubo Workbench,

Lake Erie Toolworks, Leg Vise, Wooden Leg Vise, Tail Vise, Roubo Workbench,

WB-March2017-4-Web

WB-March2017-5-Web

Built this bench in 2015 inspired by all the beautiful benches @ work bench of the month (on Lake Erie Toolworks Website, now known as “Workbench Ideas”).  I don’t consider it a certain style, just the size for area I had to put it, w/accommodation for items I wanted it to store.

It’s white oak w/pine drawer boxes. leg vice w/Lake Erie maple screw which I sleeved w/oak to match bench and scissor for alignment control. Shoulder vice w/Lie Nielsen slide hardware, one row of 3/4″ dog holes continuous of top. Thin drawers for chisels, top narrow drawers for dogs and misc. Bottom drawer is for my routers along w/shelf just under bench top which is approximately 3-3/4 thick w/ dovetailed corners.

It’s not my main bench, it’s my nice bench (don’t beat stuff up on this one) but I do use it. Finished w/2/3 linseed oil and 1/3 varnish mix. Love the wood screw, smooth quick action. I’m 67 and now build about whatever I want to. Learned the trade from my dad who was a self-employed builder/woodworker for over 50 years. I have a very nice shop of my own and love this work bench.

Thank you for ideas and inspiration to build this one.

Gerald L. – Carlin, Nevada

2 thoughts on “Announcing our March 2017 Workbench Idea

  1. I’ve known Gerald L since he was a young man and father. Woodworking, building projects, homes from scratch, even marvelous carvings from just a tree branch – if it’s wood, he does it better than just about anyone. Marvelous Gerald – this bench is like a piece of fine furniture!

    • I’ve known Gerald L. since he was a young man and father. Wood working, building projects, custom homes from scratch, even marvelous carvings from just a tree branch – if it’s wood, he does it better than just about anyone. Marvelous Gerald! This is just like a fine piece of furniture!

Leave a Reply

